Childfree by Choice/Chance

So I figure today would be a great day to dive into our decision to remain childfree, and let me say that word again because some people often use the term “childless”, and it’s incorrect.

The reason I’ve decided to jump into this subject today is, I’ve been hearing and reading more and more that many people, women especially find it selfish to not choose motherhood.

To be honest, I’m a little shocked. While I know we live in a society of political correctness and social justice, I assumed we were well past telling women that it’s not okay for her to choose her husband or career over parenting. It is 2019 after all…

My husband and I have numerous reasons why we have chosen not to jump on the parent train and I will list them below, in fact I shared these reasons with a small group of other Stay at Home wives without kids today, and it’s nice to know we aren’t alone.

Our reasons:

1. They are expensive; we like not being broke
2. We are trying to embrace a Minimalist lifestyle and although we could with kids it would be better without.
3. We don’t want to raise kids in today’s society, we just feel like the world we live in, isn’t like when we were kids. Granted every generation feels this way, but we feel very strongly about this.
4. Various health reasons between the two of us.
5. It just hasn’t happened for us, we are in our mid-late 30s and it kind of feels like it’s not part of God’s plan for us, that could change or it may not.
6. We 🖤 sleep…

We’ve both been through rough marriages that have made us realize that our relationship with each other is too valuable to disturb by adding kids in the mix, not that kids aren’t amazing!

We just don’t feel it’s part of our plan, BUT should God change that we are 100% okay with it.

Between our two cats and the sweet little girl I nanny, our cups runneth over as is.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.